China’s Foreign Ministry explained the decision on sanctions against members of the Trump administration

China considers necessary sanctions against a number of members of the administration of Donald Trump, said at a briefing on Thursday, the official representative of the Chinese Foreign Ministry Hua Chunying.

Earlier, Beijing decided to impose sanctions on 28 US citizens, including Secretary of State under Donald Trump Mike Pompeo and Trump’s trade adviser Peter Navarro, for interfering in China’s internal affairs and undermining Chinese interests. In the US, this decision was called “unproductive and cynical”.

The candidate for Secretary of State called China the greatest challenge for the United States

“China’s sanctions against these US citizens were a response to their erroneous actions, which undermine China’s sovereignty and interfere in the internal affairs of the People’s Republic of China. This introduction of sanctions is necessary and demonstrates our determination to defend our national interests”, – the diplomat said.

They stressed that these individuals, based on their own interests, undermined relations between the two countries, and “will pay for it”.

The Chinese Foreign Ministry has released only some of the names from the list of those sanctioned, including Matthew Pottinger, Mike Pompeo, Peter Navarro, Robert O’Brien, Alex Azar, John Bolton, Stephen Bannon, Keith Crutch.

Hua Chunying did not specify the names of the other persons included in the sanctions list at the briefing.


comments powered by HyperComments