China imposed sanctions on four representatives of US entities due to Hong Kong

They will be banned from entering China, the Chinese Foreign Ministry explained

The Chinese government has imposed sanctions on four employees of non-profit organisations from the US for interfering in Hong Kong affairs. This was announced by Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesperson Hua Chunyin at a regular briefing on Monday.

“In response to US misconduct, China has decided to impose sanctions on four people from today for inappropriate behaviour towards Hong Kong. These include John Knaus, Senior Director for Asia at the American National Endowment for Democracy (NED), Manprit Sinckh Anand, Director for Asia and the Pacific at the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs of the United States, Rosario, Programme Manager for Hong Kong, and Kelvin Seat, Project Manager”, –  she said.

“They will be banned from entering China,” the diplomat added in response to a request for clarification on the nature of the sanctions.

On 30 June 2020, the Chinese Parliament passed a law on ensuring national security in Hong Kong. As stated in Beijing, it aims to prevent crimes such as separatism, terrorism, undermining state power and collusion with foreign forces, and provides for life imprisonment as a capital punishment.