Silence violations continue in Syria

An information bulletin of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation on the implementation of the Memorandum on the creation of de-escalation zones as of November 17, 2020 was published.

As part of the implementation of the Memorandum on the establishment of de-escalation zones in the Syrian Arab Republic, signed by the Russian Federation, the Turkish Republic and the Islamic Republic of Iran on May 4, 2017, monitoring groups continue to monitor compliance with the ceasefire regime.

By agreement of the Russian and Turkish sides, from 00.01 on March 6, 2020, a cessation of hostilities regime is in effect on the territory of the Idlib de-escalation zone.

The Russian part of the representative office of the joint Russian-Turkish commission to consider issues related to the facts of violations of the cessation of hostilities, recorded 27 facts of opening fire in the provinces: Aleppo – 2, Latakia – 7, Idlib – 14, Hama – 4.