China has announced plans to impose sanctions against three US companies

The decision was taken because of arms deliveries to Taiwan, Beijing said.

Beijing will impose sanctions on American companies for supplying arms to Taiwan. Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Zhao Lijian said at a regular briefing on Monday that Lockheed Martin, Boeing Defense and Raytheon are among the companies that are under restrictive measures.

“We have decided to take appropriate steps to protect our international interests. We will impose sanctions on US companies that have played a significant role in this process”, –  he said. – “Among the aforementioned companies are Lockheed Martin, Boeing Defense and Raytheon.”

“U.S. arms transfers to Taiwan seriously undermine the principle of China alone, violate Chinese sovereignty and undermine our security interests. We strongly protest and condemn such actions in this regard”, –  the diplomat added.

“China calls on the U.S. to follow the policy of one China and the provisions of the three joint Sino-US communiqués, to stop supplying arms to Taiwan and to cut off military contacts with it. We will continue to take the necessary measures to protect national sovereignty and our security interests”, –  said the Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman.

On 22 October, the US Department of State approved possible arms supplies to Taiwan for the amount of about $1.8 billion. According to the report circulated earlier by the US Agency for Defence Cooperation and Security, these are SLAM-ER air-based cruise missiles, HIMARS multiple launch rocket systems and MS-110 reconnaissance sensors for aircraft.

Taiwan has been governed by its own administration since 1949, when the remnants of Gomindang forces led by Chiang Kaishi (1887-1975) fled to the island, having been defeated in the Chinese Civil War. Since then, Taiwan has kept the flag and some other attributes of the former Republic of China, which existed on the mainland before the Communists came to power. Beijing considers Taiwan to be one of the Chinese provinces.