Serbian Presidential Party wins parliamentary elections

The ruling Serbian Progressive Party (SPP) led by President Alexander Vučić wins the parliamentary election with 61.24% of voters support, according to data from 68% of polling stations, the election commission said.

Serbian Presidential Party wins parliamentary elections

Citizens of Serbia on Sunday elected deputies of the country’s parliament, the representative body of the autonomous region of Vojvodina and municipal authorities. Voting, according to the Republican Election Commission (REC), passed without significant violations.

According to preliminary data of the election commission on Monday morning with 68% of the polls, the SPP receives 61.24% of the vote, the Socialist Party of Serbia of the head of the Foreign Ministry Ivica Dacic – 10.43%, the SPAS block of the head of the municipality of Novi Beograd Alexander Shapich – 3.73%.

Thus, SPP will get 189 out of 250 seats in the Assembly, Socialist Party of Serbia – 32, SPAS will acquire 12 places.

The remaining parties gain less than the required 3% for passage to parliament. The law also provides for a quota for parties of national minorities – Hungarians, Albanians and Bosniaks (Muslim Slavs).

The REC must announce the results of the expression of will no later than 96 hours after the end of the vote and within ten days present the mandates to the elected parliamentarians. 21 blocks fought for 250 seats in the unicameral Assembly of Serbia. Deputies are elected for four years.

6 584 376 citizens of Serbia had the right to vote, who voted in 8.4 thousand polling stations, 90 polling stations were located in Kosovo and Metohija, and 42 – abroad. The election commission registered 3.3 thousand local and 111 foreign observers, including representatives of the OSCE/ODIHR.


Loading ...