Head of British Foreign Department to visit Moscow

On February 4-5, the Head of the polar department of the British Foreign Ministry, Jane Rumble, will visit Moscow to discuss issues related to the Antarctic treaty with Russian colleagues. This is reported by the source of the British government.

Head of British Foreign Department to visit Moscow

The activities of countries in Antarctica are currently governed by the Antarctic Treaty of December 1, 1959. The document allows the use of Antarctica only for peaceful purposes: research, tourism and international cooperation. The agreement entered into force after it was signed by 12 states, including the USSR and Great Britain. Later, dozens of more countries joined the treaty.

“Jane intends to discuss solutions to problems associated with the Antarctic Treaty system, including climate change and how it affects the Antarctic. 60 years after the signing of the treaty, it will be correct if the participating countries discuss how we can improve the treaty so that he helps solve the problems of the future”, – the source said.

He emphasized that Rumble was leaving for Moscow “without prejudice”, and that the visit was timed to coincide with the 200th anniversary of the discovery of Antarctica, “the common history of Great Britain and Russia”.

“The British side is looking forward to discussing with Russian colleagues how to ensure that Antarctica remains the territory of the world and science over the next 60 years”, – the source said.

Jane Rumble herself, discussing the Antarctic Treaty with RIA Novosti, noted its importance.

“In 1959, the Antarctic Treaty was signed, preserving the continent as a territory of peace and science, and this treaty remains one of the most successful and lasting international agreements. Nevertheless, for those who are interested in this amazing continent, much remains to be done to ensure preservation of the Antarctic ecological system”, – said the Head of the polar department of the Foreign Office.

In addition to Moscow and London, the agreement was signed in 1959 by the USA, France, Japan, Australia, Argentina, Chile, New Zealand, South Africa, Norway and Belgium.


comments powered by HyperComments