US military tried to stop Russian patrol in Syria

The US military in Syria refused to let the patrol of the Russian military police carry out a monitoring mission in the Turkish-Syrian border, the Military Informant television channel reported.

Kurdish forces withdraw from from an area near Turkish border with Syria, overseen by the Russian forces, near the town of Amuda, Sunday, Oct. 27, 2019. Kurdish fighters killed one Turkish soldier and wounded five others amid a shaky truce in northern Syria, Turkey’s army said Sunday, bringing its military death toll to 11 since the launch of its cross-border operation. (ANSA/AP Photo/Baderkhan Ahmad) [CopyrightNotice: Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.]

It is noted that the American roadblock was put up at the exit from the city of Tel Tamr in the direction of the M4 highway.

Last week, January 19, the Russian military also patrolled a pre-approved route near an oil field near the city of Rumelain in the province of Hasek, but then they were blocked by US troops stationed in Syria under the control of the people’s self-defense units and the Kurdistan Workers Party (YPG / PKK) territories.

The armed conflict in Syria began in 2011. At the end of 2017, a victory was announced over the ISIS* terrorist group in Syria and Iraq. However, in some areas of the country, stripping from militants continues.

The next ceasefire regime came into force in the Syrian province of Idlib at midnight on January 12 – from 13.00 Moscow time three checkpoints began to operate for civilians to leave the militant-controlled areas of the Idlib de-escalation zone. The Syrian army has prepared three humanitarian corridors for the exit of civilians: in the cities of Hubeit in the south of Idlib, Abu Duhur in the east and al-Hader in the south of Aleppo province.

Four de-escalation zones were created in Syria in accordance with the agreement reached in May 2017 at the talks in Astana (now Nur-Sultan) by representatives of Russia, Iran and Turkey. The territory of three of them in 2018 came under the control of Damascus. The fourth zone, located in the province of Idlib and parts of the neighboring provinces of Latakia, Hama and Aleppo, is still not subject to the government of the republic.

*-Terrorist organization banned in Russia


Loading ...