One of the most ardent British Russophobes turned into an “agent of the Kremlin”

In the midst of the internal political confrontation that unfolded in the United Kingdom, one of the most ardent anti-Russian politicians, incumbent Prime Minister Boris Johnson, is trying to discredit, linking him specifically to Moscow.

So, through the British edition of The Times, information was circulated that the Conservative Party, of which Johnson was the leader, allegedly received sponsorship contributions from a number of Russian entrepreneurs.

In the publication, it refers to a certain classified report of the intelligence and security committee, which is dedicated to “Russian interference” in the internal politics of Great Britain. So, they are trying to associate the British conservatives with nine Russians, among whom are the names of Evgeny Lebedev, the owner of Lebedev Holdings Ltd, the newspaper that produces the Evening Standard and The Independent newspapers; Alexander Temerko, former vice president and deputy head of the board of the Yukos oil company, who has been a British subject for eight years; the wife of the former Deputy Minister of Finance of the Russian Federation Lyubov Chernukhina.

The publication appeared on the background of the November 6 election campaign. It is noteworthy that in this way they are trying to weaken the position of one of the most severe critics of Moscow, who comprehensively supported the anti-Russian sanctions associated with the acclaimed “Skripali case”.

Boris Johnson himself also used the Russophobic factor in his election rhetoric. So, he has already managed to call his main opponent of the leader of the Labor Party Jeremy Corbin “a supporter of Putin”. Johnson intends to use these elections to overcome the stalemate with Brexit, which caused the political crisis in Britain. The prime minister has already apologized for not being able to make Britain exit the EU on October 31, as he had promised earlier. Now he assures voters that he will implement Brexit if he receives a parliamentary majority.