US Congress adopts a resolution against the inclusion of Russia to the G7

The House of Representatives Committee on Foreign Affairs of the US Congress passed a resolution against Russia’s participation in the G7 meetings, according to a report on the website of one of the authors of the document, Congressman Albio Cyres.

It is explained that Russia should not have access to the G7 until it “respects the territorial integrity of its neighbors” and adheres to “standards of democratic societies”.

The G7 includes Germany, the USA, Canada, Japan, France, the UK and Italy.

In 1998, the format expanded at the expense of Russia, however, after the return of Crimea, club members refused to come to the summit in Sochi, and gathered in Brussels in every possible way.