Parliamentary elections start in Poland

Polling stations opened in Poland, where the next parliamentary elections are held. Polish citizens will elect 460 deputies of the Sejm (Lower house of Parliament) and 100 members of the Senate (Upper house of Parliament).

Polling stations opened at 7:00 (8:00 Moscow time) and will be closed at 21:00 (22:00 Moscow time). Only after they are closed, the first exit poll data will be announced. In case of unforeseen circumstances, the legislation provides for the possibility of extending the work of individual polling stations.

Sejm deputies are elected on open party lists in proportion to 41 multi-member districts. The electoral threshold is 5% for parties and 8% for coalitions. Elections for Senate members are held in 100 single-member constituencies.

According to the State Electoral Commission of Poland, 3,011,1281 voters have the right to vote.

To conduct the elections, 27,415 polling stations were created. Including 329 abroad and five on ships. Most overseas sites will open in the USA – 48, the UK – 54, Germany – 23. In Russia, five sites will open. 234.5 thousand members of the commissions will work on the sites.

It follows from the calculations of the state electoral commission that 11 people will compete for one seat in the elections to the Sejm. 5112 candidates apply for 460 deputy mandates. Record competition was recorded in District 33 in the city of Kielce in central Poland. Here, 210 candidates are fighting for 16 seats.


Loading ...