European Parliament elections are held this week from Thursday to Sunday across 28 EU member states. EU citizens are going to choose the composition of the 751-seat legislative body.

The bulk of the voting will take place on 26 May, when the remaining EU nations will cast their votes.

Currently, the European Parliament consists of 751 members, who are elected by direct universal suffrage for a five-year term. Each country sets the day of voting itself. The minimum age for a candidate to stand in the European elections varies from 18 to 25 years, depending on the country.

Seats are allocated on the basis of population of each member state. At the same time, gender equality must be guaranteed, women should occupy a little more than one third of the seats in the parliament.

All citizens of the European Union, regardless of their country of residence, can vote in the European Parliament elections.

Tags: ; ; ;