Several French lawmakers tabled a motion of no confidence, with a vote to be held on Thursday in the wake of President Emmanuel Macron’s handling of the “gilets jaunes” (“yellow vests”) crisis.
André Chassaigne, of the French Communist Party; Olivier Faure, from the Socialist Party; and Jean-Luc Mélenchon, founder of France Unbowed (La France Insoumise) movement, along with 59 members of the National Assembly — the French parliamentary body — put out a joint statement while filing a motion of no confidence against Macron’s government, the AFP reported.

Under Article 49 of the French Constitution, a no-confidence motion must be voted on at least 48 hours after filing and an absolute majority of MPs is required to bring down the government – an event which is unlikely to happen as Macron’s own La République En Marche! party has a strong majority of 309 seats in the 577-seat parliament.

Tags: ; ;