Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov will take part in the meeting of the Council of Foreign Ministers of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) in Minsk on Monday.

The meeting will be focused on pressing issues related to international and regional security, developments in the regions adjacent to the organization’s zone of responsibility, as well as countering international terrorism and extremism, according to ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova.

The ministers are also expected to approve a plan for consultations on foreign policy, security and defense.

The CSTO was established on the basis of the Collective Security Treaty, signed by the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) member states on May 15, 1992. Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan make up the current CSTO member list. Former member state Uzbekistan announced the suspension of its CSTO membership in 2012.

Tags: ; ; ; ;