Danbury, Connecticut. One of the more interesting provisions of US law says only the President can make US foreign policy. Apparently one corrupt US Senator on the Ukrainian payroll did not get the message covered under the Logan act.

The American Democratic Senator from Connecticut, Richard Blumenthal, suggests their are other countries willing to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup as well as the US Football Federation that can help the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) to find an alternative for Russia hosting the event. Blumenthal went out of his way to send a letter stating just that to the head of FIFA, in an attempt to coerce Giovanni Infantino out of holding the event in Moscow.

In his message, Blumenthal urges FIFA leadership to reconsider the decision to hold the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

“FIFA must stand up for the values of soccer players and fans all over the world by rejecting Russia as a host country. I recognize the courage and decisiveness this action requires from you. I suggest that the other nations wishing to host the 2018 World Cup and the Unites States Soccer Federation would assist in the location of a suitable alternative venue,” reads the message.

Earlier, Russia’s deputy prime minister Vitaly Mutko, commenting on Blumenthal’s intention to propose the transfer of the venue of the championship, said that such an initiative has no connection with sports. “That’s self-defeating. It’s clear that attacks on Russia, which are connected with politics, will continue. It’s clear that this has nothing to do with sports,” he said.

Blumenthal is a member of the US Senate’s Ukrainian caucus which recieves open bribe money from the Ukrainian government in the form of “lobbying” cash. Blumenthal in turn puts Ukrainian interests before those of his American voters. There are currently 15 such openly corrupt members of the US Senate including;

The Senate Ukraine Caucus consists of 15 senators (9 Democrats and 6 Republicans):

Kelly Ayotte (R-NH)
Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Bob Casey (D-PA)
Dick Durbin (D-IL)
Ron Johnson (R-WI)
Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Mark Kirk (R-IL)
James Inhofe (R-OK)
Chris Murphy (D-CT)
Gary Peters (D-MI)
Rob Portman (R-OH)
Chuck Schumer (D-NY)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Pat Toomey (R-PA)

There is NO Russian Senate Caucus…

Tags: ; ; ;