Russia opens up visa free travel with India in far east



Moscow, Russia. Previously many Indians had to go through a difficult process to visit the Russian Federation, but now there are many parts of Russia Indian nationals can now travel visa free.


The Russian prime minister Dmitry Medvedev has announced that tourists and businessmen from India and 17 other countries can visit the country’s far east without visas to boost tourism and investment in the region.


Russia announced yesterday that businessmen and tourists will not need to undergo the traditional procedure of obtaining a Russian visa. According to the official site of the Russian cabinet, the list of 18 countries comprises Algeria, Bahrain, Brunei, India, Iran, Qatar, China, North Korea, Kuwait, Morocco, Mexico, UAE, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Tunisia, Turkey and Japan, Tass news agency reported.


“I have recently approved the list of countries, whose nationals can take advantage of the preferential regime,” Medvedev said. “We are pro actively forming the modern infrastructure and creating special regimes in the far east; the law on visits to the Vladivostok free port was approved in March,” he said.


The cancellation of visa procedures for tourists and businessmen “will promote growth of investment and tourist attractiveness of the far east,” the prime minister said. By cancelling the visa regime, it is thought this will increase business, tourism and cultural exchanges.





comments powered by HyperComments