“The candidate countries Montenegro and Albania, and the European Free Trade Association countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with the Council’s decision,” said the chief of EU’s diplomacy. “The EU takes note of this commitment and welcomes it, ” Mogherini added.




On September 15, the EU prolonged until 15 March 2017 the sanctions against Russia imposed after its intervention in Ukraine. The measures consist consist of assets freeze and a travel ban against 146 persons and 37 entities. The blacklist includes Russian politicians, businessmen and people from Vladimir Putin’s inner circle, as well as leaders from eastern Ukraine and Crimea.